Fashion · OOTD

All Pinned Up!

I wore pin up fashion for the first time in a long time and I loved it!

Screen Shot 2017-08-10 at 10.00.28 PM

I just watched the movie Cry-Baby, starring Johnny Depp for the first time in a long time, and I fell in love with rockabilly/pin up fashion all over again. I pulled out my favorite Hell Bunny sailor dress and put together a cute look to wear out. I tied my hair up in a small silk scarf, and slipped on the only pair of flats I own, and I never felt cuter! There isn’t a lot to this look, but it did revive my love for vintage fashion. I always specify that I don’t like vintage inspired clothing, or pin up inspired outfits, but I love real, over the top, retro fashion that looks straight out of an old World War II war effort poster.

 

I’ve been so enamoured with J-fashion, that my love for pin up style kind of took a backseat. I’ve gotten more and more fascinated with burlesque, and the most famous burlesque star at the moment is Dita Von Teese, who is known for her vintage wardrobe, and the more I look at her clothes, the closer I am to ordering 10 pairs of high waist sailor shorts and 20 wiggle dresses! The clothes she wears fit her so well, and have a sort of unique sense of glamour that I find so alluring.

I used to wear a lot of pin up clothing when I was in middle school, and high school, but when I started falling in love with Lolita, I realized I wanted to persue J-fashion more than I did vintage fashion. Now that I have a good handle on japanese street fashion, and own quite a few pieces, I am ready to swing back to pin up fashion! I don’t think I’ll be getting Bettie Page bangs or poodle skirts soon, but I feel that  I love how the clothing fits my figure, and I love how stylish I feel without feeling like I’m sticking out too much. Hopefully I can save up, and start adding more pin up pieces in my wardrobe! I’m ready to live my Dita Von Teese/Catherine D’Lish Fantasy!

Leave a Reply

