Fashion

Top Tips for Dressing For Success(ing)

I love creating an outfit, it’s almost like a work of art for me, and I’ve kind of found out different ways to make sure that when I make an outfit and decide to wear it out, everything goes smoothly, so I can feel comfortable taking pictures, and posting about it here, and on instagram. So I wanted to share four of my tips and tricks on creating a cute outfit, feeling confident, and not having to worry about it not going together when you finally wear it out.

  1. Plan, plan, plan! Whenever I know I’m going somewhere specific, I always plan what I’m going to wear, or have a loose idea of what I like. Not only does this make it easy for the day, but packing for trips becomes 10 times easier when you have an idea of what you like to wear when you go certain places. For example, if I’m going to a party back in DE, I like to wear a tee shirt, a simple skirt, and a pair of boots because it’s my classic silhouette, and I won’t be mad if someone spills something, and I won’t get overheated when I’m dancing.
  2. Rework old clothes! If you’re like me, you’ve probably got ten tops, and four bottoms that you wear in rotation. Try looking at the things you haven’t worn in a while, and rework it in a new way. For example, I haven’t touched my Danger Days MCR shirt in ages, but I started tying a knot in it and wearing it as a cropped top, and I’ve been wearing it now more than ever!
  3. Take pictures! Cher Horowitz from the iconic movie, Clueless once said she never relies on mirrors, so she always takes polaroids. If you’re like me, and you don’t really have a lot of film to waste on outfit shots, use your phone camera, and prop it up and have a mini-photo shoot with yourself! It’s super fun, and it makes me feel a tiny bit more confident before I go out.
  4. My biggest tip, is to try on an outfit you’ve been planning for a really long time on, in it’s completion before you wear it to where you actually want to go. Perhaps you wear it out, or just in front of your bedroom mirror, but it’s good to try on your outfit, with full hair and makeup before you wear it where you want to go, because you can see if anything is amiss, and you can see if you want to add or take away anything from your outfit.

I hope these tips help you in your outfitting endeavors! Let me know what your tips and tricks are for making sure your outfits are executed smoothly!

xoxo

Laurel Hope

Leave a Reply

