Fashion · OOTD

Ghibli Witch Look

I love Studio Ghibli movies, perhaps even more than I love Disney movies. They’ve got this nostalgic feeling to them, they are full of adventures, and interesting characters, well written girls who don’t have romantic partners, and beautiful worlds that seem almost indescribable. My favorite Studio Ghibli movie is Kiki’s Delivery Service, a cute movie about a witch in training moving to a new city, starting a flying delivery service, and finding inspiration to do what she loves. I love the movie so much, that I rushed to see it in theaters when there was a small showing at The Roxy, and decided to dress up for the occasion.

My outfit is inspired by the movie, Kiki’s Delivery Service, and what I thought I’d look like as a Studio Ghibli character within Kiki’s world. (I guess you could say this is my Ghibli Witchsona) I wanted something dark, because in the movie, it’s said that witches always wear dark clothes. So I chose to wear my “Miss Witch” shirt from Hot Topic’s Studio Ghibli collection, along with a buffalo plaid skirt from H&M. (While I’m not that big of a fan of “fast fashion” I must say, you can actually find some pretty cute stuff there!) I added a cute touch with my favorite beret from Alice and The Pirates, and a pair of over the knee socks. The lace on these socks are actually far longer than they appear here, I just tucked the lacy section in slightly, because it made the outfit look softer, and gave it more of a youthful vibe. I accessorized with one of my favorite bags of all time! My Kuma Kumya bag from Baby, the Stars Shine Bright! I don’t really like cats, and my dog lives with my mom now, so I chose Kuma Kumya to be my familiar as I discover my witchy skill!

I love this look because it’s so cute! It’s almost autumnal, but I can still roam around the city without being overheated. While Ghibli girls are shown wearing rather simple things, I couldn’t help but see myself in the wonderful world of Studio Ghibli, eating delicious food, making sassy remarks, and learning an important lesson. (I’ll have to do a post on ghibli movies soon, because I have such a love for them!)

I can’t wait to wear this outfit in the fall with my big wool cape, so I can feel even more witchy! But until then, I’ll just keep trying to stay cool and still give off a cozy, and cute feel!

I’m sorry I haven’t been updating my blog recently!! I’ve been super busy with work and haven’t been posting as many posts as I used to. If you want more outfits, you can always follow my instagram, @hope.laurel! I post all of my outfits, along with a moodboard for each look to show how I was inspired by it. I’ll definately be posting more things here, because I really, really love writing this blog.

xoxo

Laurel Hope

Leave a Reply

