Music

So Pure It Moves The Heavens

tumblr_onxsmpm3cd1ucurkno5_r1_1280.jpg

It’s no secret that I love Halsey. Her music is so soft and dreamy, they take you into another world. She had such an amazing image for what Badlands is it’s own world, translated through songs which I think is really cool. I love concept albums, and I think, even Room 93, an EP with no real concept lived in its own world, even though it’s something she didn’t really intend.

Her new song, “Now or Never” is the first single on her new album, Hopeless Fountain Kingdom. The song sounds like a simple un-defined relationship over a slow R&B beat, that is in the same style family as Rihanna’s “Needed Me”. I love the song so much! I can’t stop playing it over and over again, and dancing shyly to it as I ride the subway to work.  It’s a rather simple song, but Halsey’s voice keeps me there for some reason, I don’t really know what it is. Some people say her musicality hasn’t grown since Badlands, and while I can see where they’re coming from, I also like to remember that this is the first single for an entire album that we haven’t heard yet, so it’s really hard to judge by one song.

Now, the music video adds so much to the song. It gives it an entirely different, and more complicated meaning. This is Halsey’s first time directing a music video, and I must say, I was impressed. Set in a Baz Luhrmann Romeo + Juliet kind of world, where there are two rival gangs, Halsey is from one, and her lover from another, who end up in a shoot out. There are tarot card readings, angel wings, and lots of neon crosses. The phrase “Now or Never”  now has less of a “what are we? I can’t decide if we’re together or not, what is this thing that we keep doing?” meaning, and more of a “This is our big moment to be together, it may be hard, but it’s worth it” kind of meaning. I loved the contrast in the colorschemes. Halsey’s blue hair and bright gold and red clothing is striking next to her partner’s all-white.

tumblr_oo84x1yngM1uqyo67o5_1280tumblr_onwpeabayP1t89qcmo1_1280tumblr_onwpeabayP1t89qcmo2_1280

I love this video because it’s so visually stunning, it pairs with the song well, and I like that they added actual speaking parts. The whole aesthetic was grounded in reality, yet it had this fantastical element to it, that I loved. I am SO READY to see what Halsy has in store for us with the rest of the album!! Watch the music video here and tell me what you think!

xoxo

Laurel Hope

photo credit: x x x x

One thought on “So Pure It Moves The Heavens

  1. Oh, you got me to listen to Halsey, I’ll check out the video later. I’m a fan of Poppy and Melanie Martinez, so I had heard of Halsey before. “Hold me down” is actually on my Spotify list and I’ve listened to “Closer”, of course, but now you really got me really interested in her.

    Like

Leave a Reply

