Music

Some Queens of POP! 🙏🏾💖

I have always been a fan of pop music. Not “popular music”, per say, but the sugary synth sweetness that has been on our radios in the early 2000s! I also love catchy music that derives from different genres, like soul, funk, or disco. I think Pop has gotten more of a festival, indie vibe, and all I can do when I hear Mumford and Sons or whoever is roll my eyes. I miss music that makes me want to dance and sing with joy! So, I wanted to make a short list of artists that still make “real” pop music, to show appreciation! I’ll also suggest songs I love by them. (most of them are singles, bc these music videos are AMAZING)

  1. Charli XCX

U-r92YuJ

Charli XCX is definately one of my favorite artists! Her style is so versitile, going from the 80s’ peppy pop rock of her album Sucker, to the more sleek, bubblegum bass of her newer songs Vroom Vroom and Bounce. Her new mixtape Number 1 Angel is AMAZING!!! ( She really had girls shook over a MIXTAPE!!!) She tries a lot of different sounds, does collaborations with some amazing artists like Kyary Pamyu Pamyu and the ever iconic, CupcakKe!! I think that Charli has a great eye for aesthetics and sound that goes greatly underappreciated.

Songs I recommend: Lipgloss, Crazy Crazy, Breaking Up, Superlove, London Queen, and 3am

2. Bonnie Mckee

Bonnie-McKee-Feature

If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a thousand times! Bonnie Mckee will be your new Fave, I swear! She has written songs for all of the big pop stars of late, Britney Spears, Katy Perry, the Chainsmokers, and even one for the girl group, f(x), have all had songs written by her! Bonnie’s personal sound is pop-y and light, but has a lot of range! Her aesthetics have a high dose of modern americana, and 80s’ vibes which I am in love with! What else can I say, she’s catchy, hard working, and overall, extremely talented!

Songs I recommend: American Girl, Easy, Stars in Your Heart, and I Want

3. Keke Palmer

KekeP_PS-13.jpg

Keke Palmer is honestly, one of the most iconic singers right now. Her new visual EP “Lauren” is a beautiful and full of meaning, and honestly, she’s come a long way from being a Nickelodeon star. Her songs give me that 90s’ R&B vulnerability sometimes, and that modern confidence as well. I really love black singers with a powerful style and visual aesthetic, and Keke has that!!!! I am obsessed with the way that she has a very particular style in music, but can do so much with it. She doesn’t stray away from experimentation, but you get the feeling that she knows who she is through her music.

My favorite songs from Lauren are: Doubtful, GMFU, and Jealous!

4. Carly Rae Jepsen

carly-rae-jepsen-your-type-music-video.png

CarLEGEND SLAE JESUSPSEN is THE underrated musician. Like, cue the sax solo! I talked about her song Boy Problems a while back, but I really wanted to talk about Carly as a musician.  You may have heard “Emotion” was a gift, and it is!! CRJ is so much more than Call Me Maybe, she’s an icon. I love her new affinity for a glittery disco sound, and 80s’ pop. I think she also love her videos, she’s worked with the incredible Petra Collins, as well as others. I think she was really ahead in this glossy 80s’ aesthetic that we’re seeing everywhere at the moment. And even though Emotion was amazing, she blessed us with the B Side tracks, that I loved even more than the original album! (I refuse to say that Store is garbage, I love it) So in short, Carly is: Queen of Pop, Queen of Emotions, Queen of Albums, Queen of B Sides and Queen of the 80s. 😉

Songs I recommend: Run Away with Me, First Time, Making the Most of the Night, I Didn’t Just Come Here to Dance, Cry, and Roses

What do you think of my list? Did I miss anyone you love? Let me know!

xoxo

Laurel Hope

Leave a Reply

