Food

Mr. Taka Ramen

I love nothing more in winter, than ramen. It’s warm, filling, and there’s hundreds of places in New York to eat at. (But I mean, I’d eat ramen if I lived on the sun tbqh) My favorite place is Mr. Taka on the Lower East Side. (It’s on the same block of Baby, the Stars Shine Bright, AND Bluestockings Bookstore, so it’s a pretty amazing block!)

I really love Mr. Taka because it seems way more authentic and cozy than one of the more popular places, like Momofuku or Ippudo. When you walk in, the whole staff shouts “Irrashaimase!”, which means come in or welcome. I’m not sure why, but I really like it. Everyone who works there is really polite and ready to help you.

For appetizers, we ordered gyoza and takoyaki. The gyoza was really good, and it came with this amazing sauce. The takoyaki was very squishy, and was mostly fried dough, and hardly any meat. And by meat I mean octopus. It was very weird, I don’t think I’ll be trying it again, but it was an experience. Screen Shot 2017-01-05 at 3.14.54 PM.png
The ramen came almost ten minutes after our appetizers, it was kind of nice, because ramen is a very big meal, and I think I get bored slightly when I have a large meal that’s just the same thing.

I ordered my usual pork ramen the first time. The noodles were very thin, and the broth was nothing to write home about. I did love it though, I’m a sucker for a classic pork ramen and they did deliver. This time, I got Tantan ramen. It’s chicken and bonito fish broth, with thicker noodles, and bok choy. It’s more of a spicy ramen, which was a bit surprising, but I really love it!

Here is their website, you can check out the story of how the place was started, and find their menu!

Their address is 170 Allen St. It’s an amazing place and I HIGHLY recommend you try it out!!

Leave a Reply

