Music

Parachutes

tumblr_inline_od5z48galm1qfo293_500

When I was in high school, I was full blown emo, I had straight hair with fringe, I only wore converse, I wore too much black, (I’m still suffering with the consequences…) and I was OBSESSED with the band My Chemical Romance. Like, every kind of aesthetic I could somehow connect it to one of their albums. A typical statement from me would be, “That’s so Revenge.” or, “That’s so Black Parade.”

But sadly, they broke up in my sophomore year, in favor of individual projects. (When I tell you I cried, I’m not kidding.) Then, my favorite member, Frank Iero, started his band frnkiero andthe cellabration, and released .stomachaches. It was pure angst! It was super punk and I loved it!! I wasn’t sad about My Chemical Romance anymore, I was just excited to dance around to .weighted.!

Now, Parachutes was finally released and I’m so happy. While .stomachaches. was angsty and angry, Parachutes is more personal. It’s a little more personal, the band also changed their name to go along with the sound. Going from frnkiero andthe cellabration, to frnkiero andthe patience. My favorite songs right now are Veins! Veins!! Veins!!!, I’m a Mess, and Dear Percocet, I Don’t Think We Should See Each Other Anymore. They’re all kind of wild, and weird. The songs have really catchy beats, and have a kind of old school punk feel, which I love. (Though, the only “old school punk” I listen to are all girl bands like Bikini Kill) I’d give this album a 10/10. I love Frank Iero and I think this is his best album yet.

Do yourself a favor, if you like punk music or loved MCR like me, listen to Parachutes, it’s so dope, and you can tell Frank put his heart and soul into writing it.

Photo Credit: Radio.com

Leave a Reply

