Social Justice

I honestly don’t know what to say exactly. I feel empty, like someone hollowed me out and left me to rot. So, all I’m going to do right now is free write. Get everything I need to say out of my system, and hope that you all can feel some sort of connection to what I’m saying.

This election has been a whirlwind of fear, outrage, strength, and weakness. The outcome was far more than disheartening. It’s horrific, and leaves me shocked. I thought we were in a time where hatred, sexism, and racism isn’t something that would win. I can’t believe that someone won who has zero years of experience, versus someone who has been in politics for most of her life.

I believed that disrespecting large groups of people didn’t qualify you to run a country.  In fact, I thought it made you unfit. I thought surely someone would point this out. But apparently, you can.

Why is hatred for people still so strong? Why are we still in a time where we have to fight to get the things that should already be given to us??  Women still have to fight for their right to choose what they want to do with their bodies, the LBGTQ+ have to fight to be treated like basic human beings, and people of color have to fight to stay in this country, and even worse, just to stay alive. I could go on, there are so many people hurting just from hearing that he won. Just from hearing those words, fear has washed over so many people.

Times like this make me feel like there’s no hope. Like no matter what you do, or say, or write, or believe in, someone can snatch your hope away. But it’s times like this that we all have to remember, that hope isn’t something people take. It’s always there, it might get farther away, and at times we might not be able to see it, but it’s still there! Right now, a lot of us feel like we’re at rock bottom. But the great thing about that, is that the only place to go from there is up. People say we’re the generation of change. Let’s show them that we are. Don’t give up because of this. Learn, grow, and fight.

I’ll be right there beside you.

xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

