Music · My Opinion

A Little Bit Of Sugar…

As I mentioned in a previous post, Melanie Martinez posted a double feature music video for her songs Tag You’re It, and Milk and Cookies.

Screen Shot 2016-08-23 at 11.37.24 PM.png

Milk and Cookies is my favorite song on the album, other than Soap, (this song is my aesthetic) so I was ecstatic to see what Melanie put together for the video. While the video wasn’t exactly my aesthetic, it was still really entertaining.

The set was crazy adorable, featuring pastel pink fuzzy walls and retro furniture. The other part was icy and blue, holding only a table with Melanie’s singing head encased with a glass cover. Or, it was where the Wolf sat, in a sparkling arm chair, and watched the camera in Crybaby’s room.

tumblr_oce8q3wQ7T1ubatmco1_500.gif

When the video starts we see that Crybaby, (or Melanie) is being kept inside the toy box by the wolf, which I thought was kind of interesting. Treating her like a toy instead of a human being. (Feminist undertone…?)

I liked Melanie’s acting better in this video more than Tag You’re It. Her distinctive pouty face was back and was far more in character for Crybaby. Also, I could tell she was having fun being with being a head in a glass jar. Also, her dancing around, taunting, and attacking the wolf once he chokes on her poisoned food was GREAT!

I was not really feeling Melanie’s outfit or hair in this video. I mean, I could appreciate it, the braiding looked extra intricate, but I thought the frizziness looked a little odd. However, I did like her hair when she was being kept in a jar. It was adorned with fake ice cream and held in an updo.

Screen Shot 2016-08-23 at 11.37.52 PM.png
Braiding

Also, I wasn’t a fan of her outfit either. The colors were a little dull, and the outfit was just too plain for my taste. (However, I do realize that Melanie and I have similar aesthetics, but hers has a more vintage/retro feel, and mine has more of a modern japanese cute culture feel, so I can’t act like she should have done the video the way I want.)

Screen Shot 2016-08-23 at 11.38.19 PM.png  I’m a big advocate for full skirts, and overly sweet pastel colors, and I think a more lolita-y look would have looked very interesting for this video, to contrast with the dark things she’s doing. (Angelic Pretty’s Midnight Doll one piece dress comes to mind…)

As for the song, I love it! It’s the perfect cutesy goth/ cute but dangerous song out there! It encapsulates my aesthetic with the line, “A little bit of sugar, but lots of poison too” But while I like the song, I’m not a fan of her saying she’s crazy and “needs her perscription filled” though, because I feel like that puts a stigma against people with mental illness. (Why be “Cute but Psycho” when you can be “Cute but Dangerous”)

I highly suggest people watch the double feature, it’s super great, and Melanie creates directs all, if not most, of her videos! I have mad respect for that, and I really want her to get popular so she can make even more elaborate videos!

Photo Cred: x x x

(The other photos were screenshots from youtube)

 

 

Leave a Reply

