Fashion · Me and My life · My Opinion

High Fashion Rant

Hi! My name is Laurel, and some day I’d like to run my own fashion house. With this ultimate goal in mind, I’ve met a lot of people who either think down upon the world of high fashion, or think it’s only a place for vapid girls who aren’t good at anything “important”. Now, I’ve gotta get this off my chest because I’m so tired of people belittling an industry that I have loved since I was a kid.

Fashion is an artform. Plain and simple. A lot of people try to treat mediums that are traditionally feminine, like makeup, hair or nails, like they’re not creative outlets of expression. I mean, some of the gowns seen on runways don’t even seem real. They look more like pieces of art. Fashion, like art, can provide this wonderful sense of escapism for people. From the sculpted extravagant gowns of Dolce & Gabanna and Guo Pei, to more out of the box and daring pieces from Comme des Garçons, Moschino’s post-modern take on elegance, to whimsical and slightly more wearable fashions like Meadham Kirchhoff artistry can be seen all around in fashion!

I’m tired of people acting like working in fashion is for vapid people. It’s multi million dollar industry! It takes a lot of skill, energy, and experience. (We kinda learned that in Devil Wears Prada) It’s either that or the idea that it’s this super scary mean industry where everyone has to be white, blonde, and a size zero. (Denise Caldwell (queen) is one of the most popular stylists right now, and she doesn’t fit into any of those categories)

Fashion, like any industry has it’s share of problems. (a LOT of them) but I think people focus too much on how fashion is super problematic. Not saying we should throw them under the rug and never talk about them, but that doesn’t mean that we can’t love it regardless, and try to change it, and celebrate the triumphs. Like for example, Winnie Harlow has vitiligo is taking the fashion world by storm.  Marco Marco  had a runway show in 2014 with all models of different sizes and most, if not all of the models were trans* or drag queens. (including actual goddess Yasmine Petty)

maxresdefault

The industry is changing. Slowly, yes, but it’s changing none the less. I’m not telling everyone they should worship Prada or kiss Karl Lagerfeld’s feet, I guess what I’m saying is, that high fashion is so important and so inspiring to a lot of people, and I’m tired of people acting like it shouldn’t be. Because it’s such a beautiful business, and I guess I just want people to see it in the same light I do.

EDIT: I swapped the pictures from John Galliano’s Dior line because I don’t support him or his anti-semitic beliefs.

2 thoughts on “High Fashion Rant

Leave a Reply

