Fashion · High Fashion

Alexander McQueen Resort ’17

I know I’ve usually only shared my opinion on Moschino collections, but I decided to branch out to other things besides Jeremy Scott’s Technicolor pop-culture universe.

I’ve never been an avid fan of Alexander McQueen. I knew of the brand, and I knew its reputation for extremely unique collections, but I never really paid any mind to anything. But I was on tumblr and I saw shots of the new resort 2017 collection and I kinda fell a little bit in love with it. Ok, head over heels. The colors were almost dull in my opinion, but the super cute outfits freaking optical illusion fabric tricks that Sarah Burton used. (I’ll get to that later)

But I mean, the first couple looks were a little plain, but the structured cuts and polished and posh ensembles and designs that almost reminded my of equestrian wear. I instantly fell in love with the shoes. I loved the handpainted floral designs, and the frilly trim the most. It’s a lot less playful than what I usually like, but I could actually picture myself wearing this stuff. (Well, a more polished, sophisticated adult-y me)

The second part of the collection was far more fun! Burton played with elegant and old fashioned flower prints, that were hand painted onto leather!! First off the amount of hardcore detailing you’d have to do to get that right? Second of all, these dresses look like anything but leather. The patterns on the dresses remind me of Russian nesting dolls a little. I’m loving the mix of florals and leather and metal accessories, like the belts and metal jewelry.

The only thing that I don’t get, is how this is a resort collection. The cuts said Fall Winter and so did the colors. AND the fabrics, some of the pieces were actually knitwear. I think this collection gets a solid 8/10 from me.

Pictures from Vogue

Leave a Reply

