Cartoons/Comics · DC · Movies

The Anticipation is Killing Me!!

tumblr_o5a4j852h81ujcqgbo2_1280

Another trailer has been released for DC comic’s new Suicide Squad movie, and I can’t get enough of it! I’m actually more excited for this movie than the Wonder Woman movie. (Shocking, right?) It’s because Harley Quinn, my FAVORITE comic book character of all time will be in this movie, and I want them to do her justice, and so far, I think they’re doing a good job. (for a Hollywood movie, I mean I’m not a fan of the fan service shot of her putting on her shirt)

The thing I was really afraid of was that they were going to make her into a random “haha look at me I’m a crazy person” type of character but through these three trailers, they show more characterization besides the “sexy psychotic clown girl” box people tend to put her in.  They’ve shown her comedic side by standing up to Flagg and teasing him, they’ve show her compassion when she makes sure Diablo stays hydrated, her bravery, (I mean she was in a helicopter crash and kept it moving)  and they’ve shown what even though she seems very peaceful, (like when she’s reading or doing acrobatics in her cell) she’s extremely dangerous. (If you look at the exterior of her cell… she’s kept in the middle of a large locked room, with barbs and spikes on the top of her relatively small cage-like prison)

Harley is a very complex character and I think a lot of people forget about that. She’s a survivor of emotional and physical abuse, a supervillain, (kind of) and yet she still remains sweet and kind… in her own unique way.  I’m excited to see her character grow in the movie, (though I will absolutely HATE seeing her get abused by Joker) and I hope this movie is a stepping stone to her getting her own movie.

What do you think of the Suicide Squad movie? What characters are you excited to see?

Featured gif from tumblr

Top picture from tumblr

Leave a Reply

