Food

Free Macaron Day!!

On Sunday, I went out with the NY Lolitas for free macaron day (aka the day I truly come alive) and went on a macaron crawl around the city, and ended the day with tea at Boise Tea House!

Our first stop was the Mille-feuille bakery, which gave out matcha flavored macarons. They were kind of gummy…? Like, it was all fused into one, which I didn’t like. But it was matcha so I was in love with it. They had dozens of other pastries that I wanna try so I’ll definitely be back again! (to eat everything) After Mille-feuille, we went to Francois Payard Bakery, where I tried a raspberry macaron.  It was so good! I didn’t get a good look in FPB so I definitely want to go back again to see what else they have. After our very small macaron crawl, we went to Boise tea house on Morton Street and it was GREAT!!

Screen Shot 2016-03-21 at 10.45.42 PM

Here’s our tea tray. We got smoked salmon, chicken breast, and crab sandwiches on the bottom. All delicious, but the salmon was my favorite. (the chicken looked kinda weird bc it was yellow?? but it was really good) The middle tray was green tea cakes, regular tea cakes, and macarons. I had a rose and darjeeling tea macaron. I think the rose was my favorite, it’s slightly fragrant…? It’s weird because it’s like I can smell it as I’m eating it. The top tier had scones, strawberry preserves and clotted cream.

For tea, I got a pot of flavored green tea called kyoto cherry rose, which was kind of fruity. It was also pretty sweet even without sugar which was nice!

I really liked Boise, and I’d definitely go again. It’s small, but very cute. It was $40 including gratuity for a regular tea service, which covers a pot of tea, three kinds of sandwiches, and two macarons. (and the cookies, and scones too) which is pretty cheap for a NY tea service. 10/10 would recommend to a friend.

*Address for Mille-feuille bakery: 52 Laguardia Pl. New York, NY 10012

*Address for Francois Payard: 116 W Houston St, New York, NY 10012

 

Leave a Reply

